2012 Program Song

Sydney musician, Josh Pyke, spent a day mentoring three lucky students for Music: Count Us In 2012. “I’ve been a big fan of Josh Pyke’s music,” said Sun Kim, who is in year 12 at James Ruse Agricultural High School in Sydney “so to be able to work with him on songwriting is a dream come true. The fact that 600,000 people are going to end up performing this song hasn’t really sunk in for me yet.”

Joining Sun and Josh were Jorja Bromley, year 10, Shepparton High, regional VIC and Ryan Chelva, year 12, Heathdale Christian College, VIC. The song, Different People (Stand Together) was produced by John Foreman and recorded at Studios 301 in Sydney by instrumentalists and vocalists representing schools all over NSW.

Lead vocalists this year are Kai Jacobs (year 11, Ulladulla High) and Joe Mungovan (year 12, Kiama High).


Stay in the loop

Music Australia updates straight to your inbox

Follow Like
Quick Links


  • National clearing house for policy & development

  • Music Journal

    Features articles about the Music Industry Sector

  • Music Talks

    Series of seminars exploring music