Music Australia News

Gallipoli Songs Competition winners announced

Graham Strahle
| December 11, 2014

Winners of the Gallipoli Songs Competition will have their works performed during Anzac Day centenary broadcasts next year. Five Australian composers, Melody Eotvos, Martin Greet, Constantine Koukias, Aristea Mellos and Peter McNamara, have been selected from 110 entrants in the competition, which is run by ABC Classic FM and Radio New Zealand Concert and funded by The Department of Veterans’ Affairs. Composers were invited to set texts from original letters, diaries or other personal writing related to the Gallipoli campaign. Each winner receives $5,000 in prize money.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stay in the loop

Music Australia updates straight to your inbox

Follow Like
Quick Links


  • National clearing house for policy & development

  • Music Journal

    Features articles about the Music Industry Sector

  • Music Talks

    Series of seminars exploring music